Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
10 February 2022

Press release by Schott Music

Women Composers, Book 2

A Graded Anthology for Piano, Book 2


Melanie Spanswick


  • From the best-selling author of Play It Again: Piano
  • Repertoire from the Baroque era to the present day
  • Includes teaching notes and biographical notes on the composers
  • Progressive pieces ranging from an Easy – Intermediate level


From the author of the best-selling series Play It Again: Piano, Melanie Spanswick has just released her latest series, Women Composers – A Graded Anthology for Piano.

This three-part series for piano, written exclusively by women composers, is an anthology of educational literature, with a broad repertoire from the 17th century to the present day. The collection covers all levels of difficulty, progressing from easy to difficult, across three books and is an indispensable addition to both lessons and concerts.

Suitable for pianists with some piano experience, book 2 comprises 19 pieces written in various musical styles. For each piece, Spanswick has written short instructions with rehearsal tips as well as biographical notes on the composers.

Volumes 1 and 2 are available for purchase now. Volume 3 is due for release on March 21st 2022.