Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
26 August 2020

Press release by Schott Music

Suite italienne

For Solo Double Bass

Igor Stravinsky / Brian Powell (arr.)


  • Double Bass arrangement of Stravinsky’s Suite italienne, from the 1920 ballet, Pulcinella
  • Advanced level
  • Arrangement by Associate Professor at Frost School of Music and double bass performer Brian Powell


This transcription of Suite italienne is the first full-scale composition by Igor Stravinsky to enter the double bass solo repertoire.

The selection of movements has been widened, continuing a practice Stravinsky established with his instrumental collaborators (Dushkin and Piatigorsky) of allowing the performers to select material from the ballet Pulcinella. The Vivo movement especially is derived directly from the orchestral Pulcinella Suite: widely recognised by classical bassists as one of the most significant solos in the orchestral repertoire, the bass part is faithfully reproduced as in the original score.

The suite possesses an abundance of flare and technical virtuosity that will excite audiences.