Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
26 August 2020

Press release by Schott Music

Suite italienne

For Solo Viola

Igor Stravinsky / Kim Kashkashian (arr.)


  • Viola arrangement of Stravinsky’s Suite italienne, from the 1920 ballet, Pulcinella
  • Advanced level
  • Arrangement by Grammy Award-winning violist and teacher Kim Kashkashian


Drawing on the composer’s transcriptions for violin (with Samuel Dushkin) and for cello (with Gregor Piatigorsky), Kim Kashkashian has produced a long-overdue viola version of this neoclassical masterpiece.

The choice of movements from Stravinsky’s Pulcinella Suite differs between those for violin and cello; Kashkashian has in turn made a slightly different selection comprising Introduzione, Serenata, Aria, Tarantella, Toccata and Minuetto e Finale.

A show-stopping addition to the repertory of modern viola music.