Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
23 March 2022

Press release by Boosey & Hawkes


Horn in F and Piano

Ralph Vaughan Williams


  • Four-movement work for horn and piano
  • Reconstructed by Martin Yates
  • Intermediate – Advanced level
  • Released to mark the composer’s 150th anniversary year


This substantial four-movement work was composed around 1903 for the German-born virtuoso Adolph Borsdorf (1854-1923), professor of French Horn at both the Royal College of Music and the Royal Academy of Music in London.

The complete manuscript of the horn part survived in the British Library, along with only sketches of the piano part. Therefore, Martin Yates has recreated the piano part at the request of the Vaughan Williams Charitable Trust. The preface gives insight into Martin Yates’ approach to the completion of the Sonata, and on the work’s presumed connection with Borsdorf.

Released to mark the composer’s 150th anniversary year, this publication is an important new addition to the horn repertoire of this period.

Suitable for intermediate to advanced level musicians.