Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
22 August 2018

Press release by Schott Music

New Book by Tim Richards



Jazz, Latin and Modern Collection


15 Pieces For Solo Piano

Tim Richards


• includes arrangements of Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington & Charlie Parker songs

• includes fully notated improvisations

• has notes on interpretation, technique, theory and performance


From the bestselling author of Improvising Blues Piano, Exploring Jazz Piano 1 & 2 and Exploring Latin Piano comes a collection of new Jazz, Latin and contemporary repertoire for solo piano.

This collection is aimed at pianists looking to explore these styles in more depth, or those looking to expand their musical horizons – an ideal accompaniment to other Tim Richards publications.

It includes original pieces by Tim Richards, as well as new arrangements of standards by three of the most iconic composers in jazz: Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington and Charlie Parker. It has notes on interpretation, technique, theory and performance and recordings of all pieces played by Tim. Most pieces include fully notated improvisations, however chord symbols are provided to encourage you to play your own solos too.

Easy pieces at the beginning of the book give way to more challenging ones later on, suitable for intermediate to advanced players.