Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
29 October 2019

Press release by Schott Music


Realisation for string septet

Rudolf Leopold


  • Realisation of Strauss’ late masterpiece, Metamorphosen
  • Advanced level
  • Chamber music setting for string septet


Rudolf Leopold prepared this septet performance version of Strauss’ Metamorphosen using elements from both the original short and final scores.

Discovered in 1990, Strauss’ short score of Metamorphosen was originally conceived for seven strings. He however changed his mind when he received a composition commission for a 23-piece string section from the Paul Sacher Foundation.

Leopold, a Concert Cellist and Professor of Cello at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Graz, had his realisation of Metamorphosen published in 1996.