Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
13 January 2020

Press release by Schott Music


Transcription for Piano Solo

Richard Strauss


• Piano transcription of Richard Strauss’ late masterpiece, Metamorphosen
• Advanced level
• Transcription by composer and author Gustave Samazeuilh


Discovered in 1990, Strauss’ short score of Metamorphosen was originally conceived for seven strings. He however changed his mind when he received a composition commission for a 23-piece string section from the Paul Sacher Foundation.

This transcription by Gustave Samazeuilh (1877–1967) is dedicated to Dr Ernst Roth, music editor at Boosey & Hawkes, and was approved by Strauss himself.

The manuscript came to light a few years ago during relocation of archived materials at Boosey & Hawkes. A pupil of d’Indy and Dukas, Samazeuilh was a life-long friend and supporter of Strauss and made many piano transcriptions of his orchestral works.