Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »


Karl Amadeus Hartmann 115

The center of Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s (1905–1963) oeuvre is occupied by the six symphonies and the opera “Simplicius Simplicissimus”. Hartmann always composed under the sign of the artist’s responsibility to society. Thus even behind the cheerful and ironic facade of his “Wachsfigurenkabinett” (Waxworks) stands a critique of the prevailing circumstances and his engagement for a better world. On August 2, 2020, he would have been 115 years old.

Simplicius Simplicissimus
Concerto funebre