Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
6 April 2020

Press release by Schott Music

Joy of Music – Discoveries from the Schott Archives

Virtuoso and Entertaining Pieces for Piano

Wilhelm Ohmen / Robert Schaefer


  • Treasures from the Schott Archives to mark the 250th anniversary of Schott Music
  • Original pieces and virtuoso arrangements of standard repertoire
  • Works by Alkan, Czerny, Gounod, Gottschalk, Liszt, Thalberg, Wagner and more


To celebrate the 250th anniversary of Schott Music, these treasures from the depths of the archives have been brought forward and reedited.

This anthology is aimed at professional musicians and advanced amateurs interested in interesting new discoveries off the standard repertoire. It mainly contains works from the Romantic era: virtuoso pièces de résistance and encores, expressive character pieces, gems of salon music or elaborate arrangements of well-known (opera) melodies.

Many of the original compositions and arrangements were written by major piano virtuosos of the 19th century.