Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
8 September 2021

Press release by Schott Music

In the Midst of Nature

for piano

Leokadiya Kashperova


  • New Kashperova Edition for piano
  • Great repertoire resource
  • Intermediate to Advanced level


Completed in 1910, Leokadiya Kashperova’s In the Midst of Nature is a six movement piano suite that uses evocations of nature to express the composer’s nostalgia for her childhood in the peaceful and remote Russian countryside.

This piano suite also represents an artfully graded progression: the early movements are within the range of the talented player whilst the latter movements require the technique and interpretative maturity of a conservatoire student, the whole work being admirably suited to the professional recital.

Having been neglected for a century, Kashperova’s work has recently been rediscovered by Boosey & Hawkes who are proud to present the new Kashperova Edition of her piano suite. In the Midst of Nature is the third of ten works available in the collection.