Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
20 June 2022

Press release by Schott Music

Fragment douloureux

op. 14


Vladimir Horowitz


  • Previously unpublished work
  • Suitable for concert performance
  • Part of The Horowitz Edition series
  • Advanced level


It’s possible that Fragment Douloureux, op. 14 may have been the last composition that Horowitz wrote before leaving Russia in the 1920s. Dedicated to Felix Blumenfeld, the piece is filled with agony, highlighted by the extreme dynamics, triplet rhythms and chromatic chords. Suitable for advanced pianists.

Vladimir Horowitz is considered to be one of the most important pianists of the 20th century. After his death in 1989, he not only left behind an impressive number of audio recordings of his piano transcriptions, but also a collection of his own piano compositions. A number of these works are being published for the first time under the Horowitz Edition, giving pianists the chance to discover these previously unavailable treasures.