Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
8 September 2021

Press release by Schott Music

Cello Sonata in G

Op 1 No 1

for cello & piano

Leokadiya Kashperova


  • New Kashperova Edition for cello and piano
  • Great repertoire resource
  • Intermediate to Advanced level


Leokadiya Kashperova (1872–1940) wrote cello sonata op.1/1 soon after graduating from St. Petersburg Conservatoire.

More famously known as Stravinsky’s piano teacher, Kashperova was a virtuoso pianist and composer, writing many works after her first sonata. Despite being associated with some of the greatest musicians of her day, Kashperova’s music has been neglected for a century. Her work has recently been rediscovered by Boosey & Hawkes who are proud to present the new Kashperova Edition of her cello sonatas.

Both works are in four movements and portray the composer’s excellent piano writing and Russian Romantic style. Cello Sonata in G, Op.1/1 is the first of ten works available in the collection.