Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Schott Violin Library

The Schott Violin Library contains eleven varied Baroque sonatas for violin and basso continuo. Including both popular sonatas by Corelli, Vivaldi, Handel and Telemann and lesser known, charming compositions by Dall’Abaco, Pepusch and Finger.
Suitable for violinists of intermediate standard.
Some of these works can be played entirely in first position, others require only a few position changes and the sonatas by Dall’Abaco, Kirchhoff, Vivaldi and Handel require more fluent shifts between the first three positions.
– A. Corelli: Sonata A major op. 5/9
– G. Finger: Sonata G major
– J.C. Pepusch: Sonata No. 5 G major
– J.C. Pepusch: B minor
– E.F. dall’Abaco: Sonata D major op. 1/6
– A. Vivaldi: Sonata F major op. 2/4
– A. Vivaldi: Sonata B minor op. 2/5
– G.P. Telemann: Sonatina No. 6 F major (TWV 41:F1)
– G. Kirchhoff: Sonata No. 11 B minor
– W. de Fesch: Sonata No. 4 G major
– G.F. Händel: Sonata No. 13 D major HWV 371
1 bis 1 von 1

Summer Sonata

I wrote the first movement of my Sommersonate in the summer of 2010, and though a self-contained work, it called out for continuation or a companion piece. I imagine the first movement, marked moderato, to be bright, free, weightless, transparent, flooded in sunlight. In contrast, the newly composed second movement is nocturnal and cryptic, with a restrained glow. A Romance, a (summer) night piece. –Jörg Widmann

1 bis 1 von 1


A Solo Book for Treble Recorder

A huge collection of solo pieces from the 14th-21st centuries. With a wide range of styles and moods, this volume has something for everyone. The pieces are all at a moderate level of difficulty and are suitable for intermediate to advanced players.   Sample of content:

– H. Purcell: Heers that will Chaling all the Faire
– Anon: New Allmand
– Anon: Corant
– Anon: An Entrie Danc’d by Mrs. Saintloe at the Theatre
– G.F. Händel: Air
– Anon: Fly swiftly ye Minutes
– Anon: Airs Anglois
– G. Bingham: Air
– A. van Heerde: Boree
– A. v. Heerde: Jigg
– A. v. Heerde: Sarabanda
– Mr. Clark: Jigg
– Anon: Air
– D. Demoivre: Suite a-Moll
– Anon 1750: 13 pieces “The Complete Tutor for the Flute“
1 bis 1 von 1

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

The setting of Goethe’s ‘Zauberlehrling’ is among the most famous works by the Parisian composer Paul Dukas.
This orchestral work tells the story of the sorcerer’s apprentice who overestimates his magical powers and causes complete chaos.
1 bis 1 von 1


The Violinissimo series attempts to make the rich repertoire of five centuries of violin music accessible for lessons, concerts and private music-making.
The anthology Serenade contains a selection of 36 intermediate arrangements for violin and piano which can be used for performance purposes to enlarge the educational standard repertoire and make it more interesting and may therefore be a constant companion of every advanced pupil in his/her lessons.
Sample of content:
– J.S. Bach: Air from the Orchestral Suite No. 3 D major
– G.F. Händel: Alla Hornpipe from the “Water Music”
– R. Hofstetter: Serenade
– G. Braga: La Serenata / The Angel’s Serenade
– F. Schubert: Ständchen (“Leise flehen meine Lieder”)
– J. Brahms: Waltz op. 39/15
– G. Bizet: Carmen-Medley
– P.I. Tschaikowsky: Chanson triste, op. 40/2
– A. Dvorák: Humoresque op. 101/7
– E. Satie: Gymnopédie No. 1
– S. Rachmaninow: Vocalise op. 34/14
– Z. de Abreu: Tico Tico
– G. Gershwin: Prelude No. 2
1 bis 1 von 1


The composer states that
“The piece begins with a slowly falling scale of seven notes, thrown from one player to another, repeated nine times and embellished with ornamental flurries which outline a gradually evolving harmonic pattern. The repetitive nature of the music is like a peal of bells or some other kind of evocation. Eventually the music breaks out of this cyclic inevitability and heads into a faster dance-like material which in turn develops its own ritualistic recurrences.”
The score and parts are intended for oboes at sounding pitch or for soprano saxophones sounding a tone lower than notated.
1 bis 1 von 1

Schott Recorder Library

The Schott Recorder Library anthology is a varied compilation of the most beautiful Baroque sonatas for treble recorder and basso continuo. This volume contains several beautiful sonatas of major composers like Georg Philipp Telemann or Georg Friedrich Handel, among others. It provides comprehensive material for lessons or concerts, ranging from musically charming pieces of moderate difficulty to demanding compositions of tonal splendour.
The compositions contained in this anthology are the most popular works from the successful ‘Originalmusik für Blockflöte’ (OFB) series published by Schott for over 50 years.
Sample of content:
– J.C. Pepusch: Sonata C major
– G.B. Bononcini: Divertimento G major
– A. Vivaldi; Sonata F major RV 52
– J.-B. Loeillet: Sonata C major, op.3/1
– G.P. Telemann: Sonata D minor TWV 41
– G.F. Händel: Sonata F major, op.1/11
– B. Marcello: Sonata D minor, op. 2/2:
– N. Chédeville: Sonata G minor
1 bis 1 von 1

Sonata for Violin Alone

Composer’s note:
The Sonata for Violin Alone was written mostly in the Summer of 2012 in Grotte di Castro near Pitigliani, Italy for Duccio Ceccanti, and completed during a long stay in the University College Hospital, London the following year.
It borrows many gestures and characteristics from Scottish folk fiddle music, which informs the slow sections with the melancholy nostalgia of a low air, and the fast sections with the rhythms of a reel. It subjects the opening melody to continuos transformation, and is in well-defined short sections, played without break.
1 bis 1 von 1

Tárrega for Guitar

The present collection offers an introduction to Tárrega’s work that includes the easiest of his compositions, starting with little studies and preludes and moving on to modest pieces for concert performance.
Simplified arrangerments and extracts from his best-known works have also been included, along with a selection of his numerous didactic exercises.
While Tárrega’s music generally uses a characteristic fingering pattern that enhances the pieces in some respects, here fingering has been simplified throughout for pieces of easy to intermediate difficulty, so as to avoid excessive reliance on higher positions , barrée and glissandi. For the same reason, the various ornaments and slurs are shown as optional.
– 7 little Studies
– 12 little Preludes
– Adelita (Mazurka)
– Mazurka
– Lágrima (Preludio)
– Pavana
– 5 easy Arrangements (M. Hegel)
– Endecha (Preludio)
– Oremus (Preludio)
– Sueño (Mazurka)
– Isabel (Vals)
– Preludio en re
– Tango
– Vals en re
– Pepita (Polka)
– Maria (Gavota)
– Las dos Hermanitas (Dos valses para Guitarra)
– Malagueña fácil
1 bis 1 von 1