Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »


Prélude “Silvius Leopold Weiss”

For Guitar

Manuel Maria Ponce


  • Composed in a baroque style
  • Written for the famous guitarist Andrés Segovia
  • Intermediate to advanced level



Composed by Manuel Ponce, this Prelude always appeared under the name of the reputable lute composer Silvius Leopold Weiss in Segovia’s repertoire.

In this first edition, the original version for solo guitar has been reconstructed and is now available as part of the Guitar Archive series.


My First Tchaikovsky

Easiest Piano Pieces by P.I. Tchaikovsky

Wilhelm Ohmen


  • Contains Tchaikovsky’s easiest works in one volume
  • Easy to intermediate level
  • For teaching and playing at home


My First Tchaikovsky contains a varied selection of the Russian composer’s original and popular pieces, suitable for beginners to intermediate pianists.

The repertoire includes works from Tchaikovsky’s Album for the Young for beginners, as well as pieces from The Seasons and 12 pieces for intermediate players. Arrangements from the ballet, The Nutcracker, also feature for players wanting something slightly more demanding.



45 Original Piano Pieces

Schott Piano Classics


  • 45 pieces ranging from the baroque to the modern era
  • For intermediate to advanced players
  • Contains a variety of composers presented in chronological order


The theme of this collection is the representation of people through music. The 45 original works for piano reflect the fascination composers have had over musical portraits for 4 centuries.

Portraits is part of the Schott Piano Classics series and provides the player with a wide range of composers including Couperin, Bach, Schumann, Heller and Debussy.


Realisation for string septet

Rudolf Leopold


  • Realisation of Strauss’ late masterpiece, Metamorphosen
  • Advanced level
  • Chamber music setting for string septet


Rudolf Leopold prepared this septet performance version of Strauss’ Metamorphosen using elements from both the original short and final scores.

Discovered in 1990, Strauss’ short score of Metamorphosen was originally conceived for seven strings. He however changed his mind when he received a composition commission for a 23-piece string section from the Paul Sacher Foundation.

Leopold, a Concert Cellist and Professor of Cello at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Graz, had his realisation of Metamorphosen published in 1996.

St John Passion

The Passion of our Lord Jesus Christ according to John

James Macmillan


  • Scored for Baritone solo, small chorus, large chorus
    and orchestra
  • MacMillan’s first Passion setting, composed in 2007
  • Divided into two parts, with 10 movements overall


One of the most successful composers of today Sir James MacMillan, dedicated his St John Passion to Sir Colin Davis for his 80th birthday. This ambitious setting of the Passion according to St John was premiered at the Barbican and performed by the London Symphony Orchestra.

This study score is part of the Hawkes Pocket Scores series, a range which has become synonymous with the best in 20th and 21st century music.

Cello Duets

34 Original Violoncello Duets from 5 Centuries

Beverley Ellis and Rainer Mohrs



  • Contains a wide selection of pieces from the Renaissance to the present day
  • Covers 1st to 7th positions
  • Easy to intermediate
  • Equal voicing sharing the melodic themes


This great value publication contains 34 original duets for both students and amateur musicians. Featuring works from a wide range of eras, including well-known pieces by Dotzauer, Kummer, Lee, Offenbach and Reinagle, as well as some lesser-known works by Morley, Boccherini, Schönebeck and Hindemith.

Other editions from the Cellissimo series include Appassionato for intermediate players and Arietta for beginners, both of which are scored for cello and piano.

Singing Sherlock Vol. 1

The complete singing resource for primary schools

Val Whitlock & Shirley Court


  • Practical and easy-to-use resource for teachers of all
    musical abilities
  • For children up to age 7
  • Demonstration and backing audio tracks are provided
  • Now available in a refreshed and repackaged edition



The updated text and newly engraved music is presented in clear and progressive steps, along with teaching notes suitable for those with limited musical experience.

Volumes 1-5 consist of enjoyable songs and fun vocal activities designed to equip and enable children ages 5-11 to sing to their full potential.

The new edition of Volume 5 is also available.


Music Diary 2020

Available in 3 colours

Richard Whitehouse


The best-selling diary returns for 2020 with a user-friendly portrait format, extra space for weekend appointments, and birthdays of hundreds of famous people in the world of music.


Listings of important musical events from 100, 50 and 25 years ago and forthcoming anniversaries up to 2025 are included, alongside a mini-directory of concert halls, opera houses, festivals, organisations and recording companies, plus a special article on Roberto Gerhard to mark the 50th anniversary of his death.


The cover design for 2020 includes an excerpt from Piano Sonata no 14 (1801) by Ludwig van Beethoven, marking the 250th anniversary of the composer’s birth.

My First Concert

31 Easy Concert Pieces from 5 Centuries

Charlotte Mohrs


  • First book in the series
  • Excellent for class teacher
  • Very easy to easy pieces


This book offers a varied spectrum of very easy pieces from the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic and Modern eras, including works by Beethoven, Charpentier, Haydn, Humperdinck, Mozart, Praetorius, Reinagle or Schubert, as well as easy folk tunes and Canons, which are excellent for class teaching. The repertoire enriches the daily exercises and any double bass tutor.

All pieces can be played in half and first position, using easy rhythms and meters, easily playable major and minor keys, easy bowing and articulation as well as easy dynamics from piano to forte, crescendo and decrescendo. All pieces are included on CD. This book is a treasure trove for beginners and can be used even earlier than the first book in the series “Easy Concert Pieces” (Schott ED 22551).

Troy Sonata

For Piano

Fazil Say


  • Composed for piano solo
  • Made up of ten named parts
  • Contains worded indications of leitmotifs
  • To be played on Say’s 2020 World Tour


Fazil Say’s Troy Sonata is a musical retelling of the Trojan War, as written in Homer’s Iliad. Seperated into ten parts, the sonata recounts the events leading up to the giving of the Trojan Horse and its aftermath, tied together with leitmotifs representing characters present in Homer’s story, as well as concepts associated with the work.

Featured on the new Warner CD, Fazil Say plays Say, the Troy Sonata will shape the composer’s world tour program through 2020 in combination with the Hammerklavier sonata.