Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »


New Klezmer Tunes

16 Pieces for Violin

Violin and Piano

Joachim Johow


  • With piano or guitar accompaniment
  • Additional bass part available as free download
  • Includes online audio
  • Part of the Schott World Music series
  • Easy – intermediate level


Inspired by old klezmer melodies, Joachim Johow has written 16 new tunes for violin, reenacting scenes from life in a Jewish town, such as ‘Am Morgen in der Gasse’ [On the Street in the Morning], ‘Auf dem Jahrmarkt’ [At the Fair], ‘Schlittenfahrt’ [Sleigh Ride], ‘Tanz der Großeltern’ [Dance of the Grandparents], ‘Am Abend’ [In the Evening].

With a notated piano accompaniment, additional harmonic symbols and an additional bass part (for free download), you can enjoy playing with a variety of instrumentations. The online audio MP3 pack contains both full and playback versions to aid practising.

New Klezmer Tunes is aimed at those playing at an easy to intermediate level.

Best of Double Bass Classics

16 Famous Concert Pieces for Double Bass and Piano

Double Bass and Piano

Charlotte Mohrs


  • 16 popular pieces for double bass and piano
  • Part of the Best Of Classics series
  • Piano accompaniment available for download
  • Ideal for use in both lessons or concerts
  • Intermediate – Advanced level


This comprehensive volume contains well-known original works and transcriptions from the Baroque, Classical and Romantic periods by Bottesini, Capuzzi, Dragonetti, Eccles, Fauré, Koussevitzky, Lulier, Saint-Saëns, Simandl, Sperger and others.

All pieces are printed in standard orchestral tuning; but, piano accompaniments for playing in solo tuning are available for download. Best of Double Bass Classics can be used flexibly in lessons, as well as in studies. The repertoire is also suitable for concerts, auditions, examinations and competitions.

Suitable for intermediate to advanced level players.

Women Composers, Book 3

A Graded Anthology for Piano, Book 3

for Piano

Melanie Spanswick


  • From the best-selling author of Play It Again: Piano
  • Repertoire from the Baroque era to the present day
  • Includes teaching notes and biographical notes on the composers
  • Progressive advanced level pieces


From the author of the best-selling series Play It Again: Piano, Melanie Spanswick has released her latest series, Women Composers – A Graded Anthology for Piano.

This three-part series for piano illustrates the rich and varied repertoire written exclusively by women composers from the 17th century to the present day. The collection covers all levels of difficulty, progressing from easy to difficult, and is an indispensable addition to both lessons and concerts.

With 12 pieces in various musical styles, book 3 is a treasure trove for advanced pianists. For each piece, Spanswick has written short instructions with rehearsal tips as well as biographical notes on the composers.

Vocalise op. 34, No. 14

Soprano or tenor and mixed choir (SATB divisi) a cappella

Sergei Rachmaninoff


  • Choral score
  • With piano accompaniment for rehearsal only
  • Arranged by Stephen Jackson
  • Intermediate – Advanced level


International choral director Stephen Jackson brings his vast experience working with the BBC Symphony Chorus; conductors; Boulez, Haitink and Rattle, and composers; Tippett, Berio and Adams, to bear in creating this close harmony arrangement of Rachmaninoff’s evergreen Vocalise. First published in 2004, this re-issue reduces the pagination and retail price, to the benefit of choirs everywhere.

Suitable for intermediate to advanced level choirs.


Horn in F and Piano

Ralph Vaughan Williams


  • Four-movement work for horn and piano
  • Reconstructed by Martin Yates
  • Intermediate – Advanced level
  • Released to mark the composer’s 150th anniversary year


This substantial four-movement work was composed around 1903 for the German-born virtuoso Adolph Borsdorf (1854-1923), professor of French Horn at both the Royal College of Music and the Royal Academy of Music in London.

The complete manuscript of the horn part survived in the British Library, along with only sketches of the piano part. Therefore, Martin Yates has recreated the piano part at the request of the Vaughan Williams Charitable Trust. The preface gives insight into Martin Yates’ approach to the completion of the Sonata, and on the work’s presumed connection with Borsdorf.

Released to mark the composer’s 150th anniversary year, this publication is an important new addition to the horn repertoire of this period.

Suitable for intermediate to advanced level musicians.


Piano Trio in A minor

Piano Trio

Leokadiya Kashperova


  • Edited by Graham Griffiths
  • Part of the Boosey & Hawkes Kashperova Edition Series
  • Score and parts
  • Advanced level


Predominantly recognised in musical history as Stravinsky’s piano teacher, Leokadiya Kashperova is undergoing rediscovery. A double graduate of the St Petersburg Conservatoire, Kashperova performed in Germany and the UK before her career sadly petered out in the 1920s.

The Piano Trio in A minor pencil manuscript was only discovered recently in 2019. The work has been edited for performance by Graham Griffiths in close collaboration with members of the Gould Piano Trio, who gave the world première in 2020.

A four-movement work of 28 minutes’ duration and in full-blooded Romantic idiom, it joins the recently republished Cello Sonatas in the Kashperova Edition.

Suitable for advanced level musicians.