Schott Music

Skip to Main Content »

Press area
20 June 2022

Press release by Schott Music

12 Studies for Viola


Franz Anton Hoffmeister


  • Urtext edition
  • Staple repertoire for the viola
  • Part of the Essential Exercises Series
  • Intermediate – Advanced level


As a music publisher in Vienna, Franz Anton Hoffmeister secured an important place in music history. But he was also an extremely prolific and valued composer of Viennese Classic.

Suitable for intermediate and advanced viola players, Hoffmeister’s 12 Studies offer a selection of playing techniques from the Mozart/Beethoven era, with scales, triads and position playing, double stops, arpeggios, as well as cantabile and polyphonic playing.